Pool day or bummer day?

Things are not as exciting today, as I had hoped that they would be.  We purchased a pool from Target a couple of wks ago, it is made by Intex.  It was exactly what I wanted in an above ground pool. 18 ft by 52 inches tall (perfect) and great for the adults (ME).  

Sean spent one day leveling out the ground, the instructions state level the ground, but not to use sand.  So he leveled the ground.  Then we went and purchased some great priced turf (fake grass) from Home Depot.  What is best about the turf that we bought well look at  and you will see online it is marked $29 and then when we got to the store it was only $15.87 for a 6 x 8 section (then the military discount too!).  http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?jspStoreDir=hdus&catalogId=10053&productId=100674714&navFlow=3&keyword=mainstream&langId=-1&searchRedirect=mainstream&storeId=10051&endecaDataBean=com.homedepot.sa.el.wc.integration.endeca.EndecaDataBean%4039a20d9c&ddkey=Search.  Then we installed the pool the rest of the way instructed.  http://www.target.com/Intex-Ultra-Frame-Metal-Pool/dp/B002UGPFB6/ref=sc_qi_detaillink.  Then late last night started filling up the water checking periodically as suggested, and so it would not overflow.  And then later this morning around 9, we found a leak, a major leak. 

Now mind you that the instructions state.  ” IMPORTANT!  DO NOT RETURN PRODUCT TO STORE”.   So first things first I called the 800 number for the pool and it says they are closed and only open on the wk days.  GREAT! So then I called my local Target.  The guy on the phone was very pleasant and courteous.  He said I can bring it back for a refund, that there would be no problem, except that they are out of the pools for the season.  Yeah!(sarcasm).  He said something that I had heard earlier from my very wise sister. ” you could wait and talk with the company”  So on this note Iam going to call in the morning Intex and see what they will do to help me with the rest of my problem!

The rest of my problem being.  Here in Nevada when we fill up a pool you just need to call the water company so that they can make a note on your account about how that much water is being used.  Now that part is easy, that is another call I have to make in the morning, but the other part of that same conversation is going to be…. I had to drain the water right away.  You see here in Las Vegas, you can not just drain your pool, into the ground or into the street.  You must run a hose from the pool to your own sewage drain.  If you do not and you are caught draining the pool incorrectly then you will be fined.  The fine amount is $500.  http://www.cityofnorthlasvegas.com/Departments/Utilities/TopicSwimmingPoolsWhereToDrain.shtm.  I tried calling the water company which is closed also, to find out if because of our water not having any chemicals in it, could we go ahead and drain the pool into the storm drain.  The message said to call the local police department, and I did.  They said that the neighbors would not know if it had chemical or not, so don’t drain anywhere other than my own sewer.

So while my pool is draining mostly on its own, while Sean went to purchase another hose for draining.  I have learned a few great points here in Las Vegas.

1.  Nellis AFB pool is free this year! (and has had some major repairs) brochure: http://www.nellisforcesupport.com/Document/Outdoor%20Rec/Pool%20for%20web.pdf

2.  Target (North 5th and 215) very courteous and helpful on the phone.  And their return policy seems to be pretty good!

3.  Hefty fines for draining a pool incorrectly

4.  Good thing to check on your cities rules and regulations before putting up a pool and before taking down your pool for the season!

5.  HAHA… try to do anything major during the wk, so you won’t have problems on the wkends!  haha….

So I will make a note after I find out what else goes on with the pool, not sure if we want to go through it all again, but we will see after I talk to Intex!  I told the guy at Target I would talk to Intex and then make our decision on the return, as maybe they can help us get it fixed?  I really would like to have my own pool instead of taking everyone to the base pool, but I will go their if I can’t have my own this year.  The Intex is everything that I wanted!

Leave a comment